Having a grateful heart

Having a grateful heart

Last week I talked about questioning God’s plan for me and how it never seems to be what I want.  I also said I would change the way I prayed and stop being so concerned with life issues, like the bank account and the bills, etc.  I learned something in the last week.  I heard this saying and I’m putting it in my own words because I don’t remember how it goes exactly, but “happiness doesn’t give you a grateful heart, a grateful heart gives you happiness.”  That is what I have learned over the last week; there is ALWAYS something to be grateful for.

God has given me so much that it is beyond comprehension.  Of course, the obvious, giving us Christ and the salvation offered through him; the promise of eternity with Him in Heaven.  But, there is so much more than that.  My husband and I have basically good health, and all our senses.  We have food in the refrigerator and money in the bank, maybe not much, but enough for our needs.  This beautiful place we call Earth, all the wonders of creation, from the beauty of flowers to all the wondrous animals that roam this Earth.  He created for us a wonderland of beauty for us to enjoy and we truly need to take better care of it, but that could be a whole other post.

My point is simply that God is very generous with me and I’m humbled by that because I am so unworthy of the grace that God showers down upon me.  I really need to stop worrying about all the little things that life throws at you, because God has a plan for all of us and already has it all worked out.  There’s a verse in Psalms, I don’t know where, but it basically says to be patient, and wait for the Lord. He knows all of our needs, dreams, everything – He knows us better than we do.  I was upset about not getting that job I talked about, but now I am grateful I didn’t get it, because if it was right for me God would have given me the job, it wasn’t right for me, so He didn’t.  He’s just doing what is best for me at all times.  Again I quote my favorite verse: Romans 8:28, “And God works all things to the good of those who love Him and were called according to His purpose.”  All I can say is trust in God, He is perfect and His gifts are also perfect.  He may not give you what you think you want, but he will give you what is best for you and what you need.

Blessings to you all,

Elizabeth

One thought on “Having a grateful heart

  1. Your favorite verse reminds me of my favorite passage: “Behold, I go forward, but he is not there; and backward, but I cannot perceive him: On the left hand, where he doth work, but I cannot behold him: he hideth himself on the right hand, that I cannot see him: But he knoweth the way that I take: when he hath tried me, I shall come forth as gold.” Job 23:8-10

    My favorite verse is verse 9 because it reminds me that He is always there, working on my behalf, even when I can’t see him.

    Like

Leave a comment