The meaning of Memorial Day

The meaning of Memorial Day

This day is a day off from work for most and it is celebrated with BBQ’s, family and mini-vacations.  And there’s nothing wrong with that, but I do think it is important to remember the reason we have this holiday in the first place.  Many thousands of people have given their lives to insure this country’s freedom, and many more serve today as first-responders and active military.  We would not have the country we have today if it were not for their sacrifice.  And, I for one am eternally grateful for that sacrifice.

My dad is a veteran of the U.S. Navy.  He did, I believe, three tours in Vietnam and was involved in a special ops program in Panama.  He retired when I was five as a Chief Petty Officer, the highest rank an unlisted man can achieve.  I am very proud of him.  There was a time that I wanted to follow in his footsteps and join the Navy.  Now with hindsight, it’s a good thing I didn’t because with my mental issues, I probably wouldn’t have made it.  But, I would have served if I could have, just like him.

I don’t want to get political, but I do think it is abhorrent that our Congress treats itself better than it treats our veterans, first-responders and active military; but, that could be an entire post unto itself. I don’t have much more to add to this; just when you are sitting around with your family, remember to give thanks to the many men and women, past, present and future, who have or will make the sacrifice to serve this country of ours and give us the freedom to enjoy the day off and spend it as we choose, with freedom.  This day is meant for them and all I ask is that you remember that.  We are surrounded by real-life heroes who have earned the recognition that they deserve.

Blessings to you all,

Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

