That whole positive thing again…

That whole positive thing again…

As I mentioned Monday, I’m working on having a much more positive attitude about myself, life, the world, etc.  After a lifetime of being bipolar, I have developed a rather negative attitude about myself and life, in general.  But, I’m working on that.  It’s going to take time, but I am going to improve my attitude if it kills me!  Attitude is everything and I want the perspective of success instead of failure.

However, for me to have that kind of major overhaul of my thinking, God needs to be involved.  I can’t do it on my own, that’s how ingrained it is in me to think of the worse possible outcome in anything.  But there are Scripture that deals with this directly.  First, Philippians 4:13, “I can do all this through him who gives me strength.”  In the same chapter in earlier verses it says to rejoice in the Lord and that we are to think of true, noble, pure, lovely things, whatever is admirable.  That is what God wants us to concentrate on, not our failures or how we are not good enough.  In 2 Timothy 1:7, it says we were not given a spirit of timidity, but of power, love and self-discipline.  I am really taking these verses to heart because as I’ve stated before, I will never be successful if I don’t learn to believe in myself and put myself out there for the world to see.  Which is the scariest thought possible, but I am not timid, I have the power of Christ flowing through me and through him, I can do anything!  Will that make this transition to being positively minded easy, no, I don’t think so.  It took me years to develop this attitude and it isn’t going to go away overnight.  But, as it is said, a journey of a thousand miles starts with the first step.  Just knowing I need to work on this is half the battle, in itself.  I want to see myself as others see me, because according to them I am very capable of being a business owner, writer, bookkeeper, and virtual assistant.  It’s in God’s Hands, and that is just fine with me.

Blessings to you all,

Elizabeth

2 thoughts on “That whole positive thing again…

  1. After the day I had at work, this was so great to read. The verse 2 Timothy 1:7 got me through elementary school and I have held to that verse since then. God didn’t give us fear, that doesn’t mean we won’t feel fear, but we don’t have to give over to the fear. It takes more than just willing yourself to happiness. You have to count on God every step of the way.

    Like

Leave a Reply

