Today is my birthday, what a joy!

Today is my birthday, what a joy!

I don’t know about you, but on my birthday I do an inventory of my life, what I’ve accomplished or finished or just my general state of being.  And I usually concentrate on the things that I wanted to change on my last birthday and didn’t achieve.  But, I’m not doing that this year.  I am working on thinking much more positive about myself and the world as a whole.  Attitude is everything, and I’m working on improving mine.  So, let’s see what I have done positive this past year…

  • I started this blog. But more importantly, I found something I love to do and that is writing.  I take great pleasure in doing this blog, and no, I’m not trying to be the next great blogger or have 10,000 hits a day kind of blog because I just don’t care.  I do this blog just because I like to and that is all there is to it.
  • I’ve been as good a wife to my husband as I possibly could be. We have had a rough year, still are actually, but we are making it through it and doing it rather well.  Of course, all the glory of doing that goes to God, because without His grace, we would not be doing near as well as we are.  I know I have done my best to support and care for my husband, home and furbabies.
  • I worked a job and I saw it through to the end. Did I have to make it part-time because the full-time hours were wreaking havoc on me emotionally?  Yep, you bet.  But I finished the assignment – I didn’t quit!  That is a huge accomplishment for me.
  • I started my own business. I am working on believing in myself that I can do this and I am putting myself out there in a way that does not come natural for me.  For instance, last Wednesday, I went to a ladies’ networking event, and I made some good contacts and may even have a client very soon.  Was it difficult for me to do it?  Oh, you betcha!  Huge introvert here, remember?  But, I did it and that is what’s important.

All things considered, I kicked butt this year.  It’s all about perspective.  Have I clients calling my phone every day or a super-successful blog, nope, but who cares!  I am doing well and that is what is important.  I’ll be 45, and frankly, when I was 20, I never thought I’d survive to this age.  As they say, I would have taken better care of myself if I knew I would still be around at this age!  The point is to always keep moving forward, no matter what life throws at you.  You can do it, you can kick butt!

Blessings to you all,

Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

