I want to be the person my dog thinks I am!

I want to be the person my dog thinks I am!

Above is a picture of my beloved dog.  We got her in 2006 from the SPCA and the vet we took her to said she was a Doberman mix.  So, considering her German roots, I named her Gretchen Eva.  She’s a great dog and I love her to death.  This is something all dog owners know, when you leave home and come back, your dog is so excited to see you – like you’ve been gone for months or something.  I can be gone for like five minutes and I get the same reaction from her as when I’ve been gone for hours.  I think that is the one thing that is so endearing about dogs, how happy they are to see you when you get home.  I have cats too and I don’t get the same reaction from them, I assure you.  Also, she is wherever I am, whether in my home office, living room, doesn’t matter, she is always by my side.

Anyway, the other day I was thinking about this; how to my dog I am the greatest being alive. And I started to think how really great it would be if I thought this about myself, not the ‘I’m the greatest’ thing, but that I am worthy of such devotion.  When my dog looks at me, she doesn’t see the fat, the flaws, the shortcomings – she just sees me as being perfect.  That’s what I wish I could do for myself, to just accept the flaws and stop having issues about them.  I am what I am, and according to everyone else I am a great person.  Do I see that? No, I don’t.  All I do is constantly berate myself for not being good enough at being a homemaker, a Christian, or just plain being a human.

As you know, I am working on starting a virtual assistant business and days like today, actually, I just think to myself what a fraud I am, how I am completely unprepared to do the job, to help clients.  It doesn’t matter that I would do anything possible to give potential clients the best service possible, or that I would care about their business as I care for mine.  I just think I am just such a fraud, that I have no idea what I am doing and why would anyone want me as a VA, when there are ones out there who really do know what they are doing.  I can’t seem to give myself a break on this, and this comparititis that I have with other VA’s is detrimental.  I could be comparing myself to a VA that’s been doing it for ten years; of course, he/she will know what they are doing.  That’s why I want to see myself as my dog does, so that I can just give myself a break and be a whole lot more logical and reasonable about whom I am and what I have to offer.  Everyone I know sees me in a way that I just don’t and I really need to work on this because there are much less talented people out there that are successful because they had the self-confidence in themselves to put themselves out there.  Maybe I need to read a book or two about developing self-esteem, any recommendations?  I know in Scripture (Philippians 4) God says to think on good, positive things and the peace of God will be with us.  Maybe I should just take His advice, and learn to think positively!

Blessings to you all,

Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

