The things my husband has taught me…

The things my husband has taught me…

And he has taught me so much.  He is an incredible person and I am so lucky that he is my husband.  Do I sometimes want to stick a knife in his back?  Oh yeah, I mean what wife doesn’t have that thought once in a while.   When we met, we were both broken people for personal reasons I won’t go into, but you know about my mother’s death already.  I met my husband about two years after she died and I was still a wreck.  We met on a blind date on a Saturday, which just happened to be Valentine’s Day; we didn’t plan it, it just happened that way.  We met for breakfast and we just knew and were together ever since.  We were engaged by the end of the month and married in October.  We’ve had are problems but we got through them and are better than ever.

But this post is about what my husband has taught me.  The main thing he has taught me is how a man is supposed to treat a woman.  Before him, I was so messed up and vulnerable that I was easy prey, add in the fact that I am a naturally trusting person didn’t help the situation.  I was treated by men before him terribly and it had to do with my choice of men and the fact that I had zero self-esteem or self-respect.  But that could be another post in itself.  My point is that my husband treats me as a woman should be treated, he always puts my needs first before his and all he does he does for me.  That is the most valuable lesson he has taught me, how to expect to be treated and knowing I’m worthy of that treatment.

The other thing he has taught me is hard work and perseverance.  He never gives up, ever!  He loves to take machines that don’t work and work on them until they do work, and he does not give up until they do – and they always do get fixed, it may take him a while, but he always figures it out eventually.  He is the hardest working man I know, he is constantly doing something.  For him to sit down and actually watch TV or something like that is rare; oh, he’ll watch at night but during the day, nope, there’s work to do.  I have to be careful what I ask him to do for me, because I’m the procrastinator in our marriage, I have to think things out; he just does it and wings it along the way.  If I ask him to do something for me, it is done like right now, even if I’m not ready for it to be done.  It drives me crazy sometimes, but I’d rather have a husband who gets things done than one who is like me and procrastinates.  I guess what they say about opposites attracting is true!  We couldn’t be more different if we tried, yet somehow, we manage to stay together and be happy doing it.

Blessings to you all,

Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

