That whole inner peace thing

That whole inner peace thing

As a Christian and a bipolar, I struggle with this every day of my life.  Most of the time, I am worried about something, usually something that if I were to have the faith to let go, God would take care of it.  My inner peace is very fragile, but when it happens it is glorious.  This feeling of everything being right in the world, everything is in harmony.  It’s a wonderful feeling, even as fleeting as it is for me.

The thing is I would have it much more often if I were to just let go of things and let God take care of it.  In Philippians, the Apostle Paul writes about letting our minds dwell on good, positive things and the peace of God will be with us.  And there is the rub.  I’m not a naturally positive person.  I am rather negative in my thoughts and usually expect the worse, which as a Christian, I am not supposed to do.  We are to have hope in God and hope in Jesus Christ.

Every day, I try to have that hope and it boggles my mind that I don’t have it.  I mean seriously, God created the universe; I think He can handle my little problems.  And Christ rose from the dead, so I’m sure he has the power to help me with my problems as well.  I just think that I am so small-minded at times that I miss the big picture stuff and worry about the little things that in the end mean diddly squat.

All I can do is my best, and let God do the rest – one of my mantras.  My advice is to simply let go of the trivial things that bog us down into the negative realm and do your best to stay positive and stay in the light.  The light is the best place to be!

Blessings to you all,

Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

