Dealing with the being on psychiatric medications

Dealing with the being on psychiatric medications

As you know, I am bipolar and on a plethora of psych meds.  Do I like it?  No, not really, but it is something I have grown to accept as a necessary evil if I want to stay stable.  Trust me, I used to be really cavalier about the meds and go off of them quite frequently in the past and every time, I spiraled out of control.  Now, I’m older and hopefully wiser and I don’t do that anymore, but that doesn’t mean I like the idea of it at all.  It’s difficult to accept you need medication just to get out of the bed in the morning, or to keep the depression demons at bay.  And it’s weird that it’s like that.  Society has no problem with people taking medication for diabetes or heart disease, but once the condition goes above the neck, then society judges you, rather harshly in my opinion, because you’re on medication for mental illness.  Likes it’s some kind of weakness of character, and yeah, that kind of ticks me off.  I don’t appreciate being judged by people who have no idea what it is like to have mental illness, but it is what it is.  Until society evolves a better understanding of mental illness, the ignorance will be rampant.

I do have some suggestions about making the whole taking medicine thing better.  I have seen so many psychiatrists in my life that I have lost count and I couldn’t even tell you all the different medications that have been prescribed to me.  Some with serious side effects; for instance, I gained like 70 pounds because of Seroquel.  I hate that medication.  I have two criteria for the medications I am willing to take. First, the medication has to be weight-neutral, period.  I’m still carrying the weight that the Seroquel put on me.  Second, it has to be generic.  I figure that if it is in generic form than it has been around long enough that if there were any serious side effects, it would be known.  There is no way on God’s green Earth you will get me to take a brand name psych med.  I don’t care how many tests it’s gone through, it is new and they don’t have any idea how the medication is going to do with the general public.

I have no good advice about this really.  It seems to be a case of being wrong no matter what you do, either be judged for taking them or live a difficult life being untreated.  And I think that just sucks, but like I already said, it is what it is.  I want to be stable and be able to function to the best of my ability in society, so the meds are necessary for that to happen.  I wish I didn’t need them, but it is a burden all the mentally ill must carry on some level for the rest of their lives.  I know there are so called natural remedies, and I have tried them and they don’t work for me.  All I can say is that it is something we all need to come to terms with and accept in some form or fashion.  Is it easy? No, not by any means.  Let’s just hope society does evolve and becomes much more understanding and accepting that there are people that don’t fit the norm and that it is totally okay.  I was born this way, accept it, I have to!

Blessings to you all,

Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

