Gratitude is key to being happy

Gratitude is key to being happy

I’ve talked about gratitude before, how it takes a grateful heart to be happy.  But it was personified this week and I will tell you about it.  My husband and I live on our church’s property; at the back of the property is a mobile home and that is where we live and my husband is the volunteer groundskeeper and maintenance man for the church.  I love my home and being here.  But, we do have a person come by on occasion seeking solace or advice that we do are best to provide.  We aren’t preachers, but we are Christians and we help as we can.  I know my husband has helped some with the church’s food pantry.   Anyway, this week a lady came by and I am going to be cryptic here out of respect for her situation.  She was seeking comfort because her “husband” was being unfaithful and had abandoned her.  All we could say was to come to church, pray, and God will heal her heart.  I truly hope that we offered her help and that she left feeling better.  I pray for her every night.  My heart just went out to her and her situation.

Afterwards, I went and had a shower and was praying for her, thinking about her and I started to think about my own husband.  We have been together thirteen years and never has he abandoned me or even gave me the impression that he was being unfaithful.  I realized then that everything my husband does, he does for me.  Everything!  I am the center of his world and he treats me as I am and I for one am grateful beyond measure to God for giving him to me.  Have we always gotten along?  Nope.  When we returned to God, He made things incredibly better in personal ways I won’t go into here.

I was getting dressed after that shower and my husband came in because he had been looking for me and I was standing there with tears streaming down my face.  He just looked at me, worried and I just looked at him and said, “Thank you.”  He asked for what and I replied, “Because everything you do, you do for me.” He agreed and turned around and went back to what he was doing.  I guess my point is that having the proper perspective on what God truly does for you and gives you is paramount to being grateful and having a happy heart.  I can’t even begin to list all that God has done and is doing for me, but I am so grateful that I even have God in my life and I would want it no other way.  I’ve tried living without Him, and I will never go back to that lifestyle, because it was nothing but pain.  Please give God a chance to heal your heart and help you with your life, you won’t regret it!

Blessings to you all,

Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

