Something I never thought I’d be saying…

Something I never thought I’d be saying…

Some of you may already know this, but I have a serious weight issue.  Recently, my insurance company offered to pay for this really in-depth healthy living program to help prevent diabetes; so, I signed up for it.  I figured why not, what do I have to lose?  Every week there’s a lesson to teach healthier living and I was sent a scale that actually syncs with the program and I’m being sent a Fitbit for free.  Part of the program, of course, is exercising.  Now, I hated exercising, obviously right?  If I was into exercise I wouldn’t be so darn fat.  Anyway, I started exercising a few weeks ago.  I’m starting small by walking on my treadmill every day and am planning on incorporating yoga this week – that’s my activity goal for this week.  I’ve had an epiphany about the whole exercise thing that I want to share with you.

Exercise truly does help you feel better.  It helps with my anxiety, if I’m feeling anxious I just get on the treadmill and walk it out, and it works!  Plus, I feel better and it has helped with the weight loss, of course.  But my point is that I feel better psychologically that I wasn’t expecting to happen.  A few points I have learned:

  • As I’ve already discussed in other posts, it helps with the depression. It releases endorphins that naturally help you feel better.
  • My confidence is growing because I feel like I’m more in control of my life, instead of being a victim of circumstance. I have a greater influence over my life’s course than I ever thought was possible.
  • The anxiety thing that I already wrote about. I have severe anxiety; who would have thought a treadmill could help alleviate it?  I didn’t.
  • I actually have hope that I can overcome this weight thing that I have been fighting for the whole of my life. Hope is a powerful emotion to have and I have not had much of it in my life.

I consider this program as a blessing.  I’m taking it very seriously.  My mother died from complications with diabetes and I really don’t want to follow in her footsteps, at least not in that way.  I highly recommend you have an exercise program.  If you already do exercise, than I’m preaching to the choir; but, if you don’t exercise, please give it a try.  This isn’t about just helping with mental illness.  Everyone can benefit from exercising and the power and control it gives you over your health and life.  So, in short, get off your butt and move!

Blessings to you all,

Elizabeth

One thought on “Something I never thought I’d be saying…

Leave a Reply

