Proverbs 31-The Ideal Woman continued

Proverbs 31-The Ideal Woman continued

As I said last week, I’ll be going through this passage in Scripture to put or try to put a modern day spin on it.  The passage describes the ideal woman in God’s eyes, and as also said, I don’t live up to in by a long shot.  But I aspire to and I think that is the purpose of the passage, to aspire.  On a side note, you may have noticed that I’m not really that talkative this week; the anniversary of my mom’s death was yesterday and it just always affects me in some way, some years worse than others.  When I read this passage, I think of my mom, was she the woman described in the passage? No, she was a human just like you or I, but she sure was closer to it than I am.  But that’s enough about that.  I said I was going to do three verses a week, but I’m going to do six, because it’s a long passage and I don’t want to spend a month on this subject.  Coming up with intro’s on the same subject several times is just not that simple a task! So, let us just get down to business.

Verse 14: She is like the merchant ships, bringing her food from afar.

Basically, not to be a smart mouth, she goes to the grocery store regularly.  She provides food for her family.  Pretty obvious to me, so let’s move on.

Verse 15: She gets up while it is still night; she provides food for her family and portions for her female servants.

She gets up early enough to get her husband and kids feed and off to work and school.  And if you have female servants, then they are the ones probably doing this.  It just means the first thing she contends with on a daily basis is taking care of the people that are in her household.

Verse 16: She considers a field and buys it; out of her earnings she plants a vineyard.

She thinks before she acts.  It’s the “out of her earnings” that I want to talk about.  If it’s her earnings then she is doing something to earn that money, so if you work outside of the home all the more power to you.  If you’re a homemaker, get really good at a craft and sell what you make on Etsy or eBay, if you have the time.  The simple point is she is industrious and considers all that she does before doing it.

Verse 17: She sets about her work vigorously; her arms are strong for her tasks.

She’s a hard-worker.  I don’t have much to add to this one, it is very self-explanatory.

Verse 18: She sees that her trading is profitable, and her lamp does not go out at night.

And, we’re back to her doing something that gives her profit.  She isn’t a shopaholic, but shops wisely and for the good of herself and family.  And she provides, with that shopping, all the needs of her household.

Verse 19: In her hand she holds the distaff and grasps the spindle with her fingers.

This talks of spinning yarn.  I don’t think we are expected to do this, at least not literally.  I think, again, it conveys the message that she is hard-working and provides for her family.

That’s this week’s verses in a nutshell.  As I said last week, I’m not trying to provide new spiritual commentary here.  Just letting you be aware of what the ideal woman is in God’s eyes and how you can aspire to be that woman.  And again, like I said last week, all God wants is for you to do your best, that’s it.  We are human, inherently flawed, but we can aspire and that is what makes us special to God, aspiring to be as Christ-like as possible.  It is something I try to do every day, some days I am better than others, but in the whole picture sense – I try my best.  Hope you found this uplifting and aspiring.  I also hope you had a great week, yeah, it’s Friday!  Have a great weekend  and I’ll talk to you again on Monday, unless I have another impromptu post, then you’ll hear from me sooner!

Blessings to you all,

Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

