Anxiety and how to handle it, or at least try to!

Anxiety and how to handle it, or at least try to!

If you do not have anxiety, then let me try to explain as best as I can what it feels like.  You know that feeling you get when you’re out and remember you left the oven on, or the garage door up, remember that feeling?  Your body starts to tingle and you get this idea that something is really wrong and you have a little mini-freak out.  Well, times that feeling by a factor of 1000 and you start to get the idea of what anxiety is like.  Except anxiety hits out of the blue and, usually, for no real reason.  When I get anxiety, my heart races faster, I get tingly all over, I start to sweat and I get this overwhelming feeling that something is very, very wrong.  And that description doesn’t really do the anxiety attack the justice it deserves.  It is a horrible feeling and I wouldn’t wish it on my worst enemy.  It is just this intense feeling that unless you’ve had an anxiety attack, you simply can’t explain it.  Kind of like a woman explaining childbirth, unless you’ve gone through it, you don’t know.

Now, my anxiety is so bad and attacks so regular that I am on anti-anxiety medication, and a high dosage of it to boot.  But, I used to have daily attacks and now I don’t so although I am not thrilled about being on yet another psych med, it is doing what I need it to do.  Having anxiety is debilitating; it hits out of nowhere and there is very little you can do to make it go away, it sort of has to run its course.  With that said, I think there are a few things that can be done to, at least, make it bearable to get through – at least for me anyway.

  • Get warm. Feeling cold, in my opinion, seems to exacerbate the anxiety.  So, put on your favorite warm sweater or cover-up and just snuggle down for a little bit.
  • Drink a cup of chamomile or chai tea. Again, it helps warm you up and there is something soothing about these two drinks and I highly recommend having at least one of them on hand.
  • Pray or meditate. Now this seems counter-intuitive, especially since in the middle of anxiety your mind is racing a thousand miles a second.  But trying to slow down those racing thoughts helps with the anxiety.  There is scripture that says to cast your anxiety onto the Lord, don’t know where the verse is off the top of my head, but it’s in there.
  • Memorize a couple of calming mantras.   My main one is Romans 8:28 – “And God works all things to the good of those who love him, who were called according to his purpose.”  Maybe it’s a quote from some other source, maybe one you’ve even made up yourself.  I have one I made up, ‘do you best and let God do the rest.’  The point is to have a couple of go to mantras that help you stop freaking out and help you get grounded in reality again.  Because the one thing that anxiety does is make you fear things that just simply aren’t there or aren’t real.  It’s fear of things made up  – another mantra of mine.

My point is to simply don’t freak out that you’re having an anxiety attack, that just makes it worse.  Just let it ride, and do your best to stay calm in the middle of the storm.  It will pass, they always do.  Just hold on, and it will be better in a bit.  That’s the best advice I can give.  Otherwise, seek a medical professional’s help and get prescribed anti-anxiety medication – but only if you have frequent attacks and it is debilitating to you.

Blessings to you all,

Elizabeth

One thought on “Anxiety and how to handle it, or at least try to!

Leave a Reply

