Honesty – not the easiest thing to practice

Honesty – not the easiest thing to practice

One of the paramount aspects of being a Christian is honesty.  Here’s some honesty for you, I have no idea what to really say on this subject.  Just facing a blank screen at the moment!  Being honest about the big things is easy, like not cheating on your taxes, telling the truth in court; well, I hope those are easy for you.  I mean it is simple; just tell the truth, right?  It may be simple, but simple doesn’t mean easy.  It’s not easy to tell the truth in every situation.  I have no trouble being honest and transparent in my business because that is how I would want to be treated, so it’s a no brainer.  Now, if a friend asked what I thought of her new haircut and I thought it looked ridiculous, what then?  Not so easy is it?  I have no quick and easy answers for you when it comes to being honest.  All I know is that God expects it of us and I do my very best to abide by that.

All we can do is strive to be as honest and kind as possible.  I don’t think flat out telling your friend her haircut is terrible is a kind thing to do; but, again I have no real answer on this. As you can tell, this is a subject that just doesn’t come that easy to me.  I get the whole honesty thing in the big picture way, but when it comes down to the nitty gritty, I am as unsure as the next person as to how to handle the situation.  My father once told me to always tell the truth, and let God work out the consequences – good advice, I think.  Now I’ve been told by my husband and others that I tell too much truth, that I should stick to answering the question and not add any more information than what is asked.  I’m working on that one, too.

I would say the best course of action is to do as my father says; just tell the truth as kindly as possible and let God work out the consequences.  That’s what I do anyway.  Sometimes, being honest can get me into trouble, but God has always worked it out for me.  Always.  So, I don’t have much more to add to the subject.  Honesty is a tricky thing, in my humble opinion.  It can get you in to trouble, but it is the right thing to do.  And doing the right thing in God’s eyes is always the best policy.  So, tell the truth to the best of your ability and let God work the rest of it out for you.  That’s all I have to say, not much in way of concrete advice, other than do your best and let God do the rest (one of my mantras).  Have an opinion on this, then leave a comment.

Blessings to you all,

Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

