Just one of those days, again!

I wrote recently on my business blog about bad days and how they are temporary, and they are.  My advice was to eat some chocolate, watch your favorite movie and just ride the bad day wave until it goes away.  Which is good advice, take it from someone who is renowned for bad days.  In fact, I’m having one today, which is what’s prompting this impromptu post.  Today just sucks, for a lack of a better way of saying it, and I’ll tell you why.

Starting a business is not easy, that’s what everyone says, but it doesn’t even come close to describing how ‘not easy’ it actually is.  Recently, I had a client lead which went nowhere because my fee was too high and this person could get the same service from an overseas VA for like $3/hour.  No joke, that’s what they charge; of course, they have a much lower cost of living in India or the Philippines and can charge that.   I, however, live in the US, where the minimum wage is $10/hour and that doesn’t even come close to providing a decent life in America.  But, what bugs me about it all is that it comes down to price, not the value of the service.  It doesn’t seem to matter that I would care about someone’s business as much as I care about mine, or the quality of service I would provide, or the talent and ingenuity I possess.  No, what matters is the all-mighty dollar. And that just ticks me off.  I am worth every penny I charge for reasons listed above and more.  But, it is true, the services I provide can be provided by an overseas VA for a fraction of the cost.  But the old adage, ‘you get what you pay for’ comes to mind.  Maybe I am just not cut out for business, which breaks my heart because if you’ve been following this blog at all you know how much staying at home means to me.  It doesn’t help that I feel immense pressure to get my business of the ground for personal and financial reasons.

Anyway, I just feel like letting it all go today.  I’m not working today, I’ve decided, and I’m just going to be a homemaker and try not to think about the whole business thing; I’m not even going to go to the networking lunch I had planned on going to.  I will spend the day cleaning, praying, and relaxing and hope for divine inspiration in coming up with a way to stand out against my foreign competition.  I know I am a good writer, been told so, but I also have to create a portfolio to sell that service and, with the way I’m feeling right now, it is not a good idea at the moment to work on it.  It doesn’t help going into the FB groups I’m in and hearing people turning away $5k in sales this month because “I just didn’t want to work with the person.”  Really?  How nice that must be to be so successful that you can pick and chose who you work with.  I’ve been told that I must know who my ideal client is, so that I know who I want to work with and who I don’t want to work with, really great advice when you’re racking in the bucks. But, for someone like me, who just wants work, I can’t afford to be that chosey.  I also recently read a post about knowing when to throw in the towel.  It came down to answering the question, “would I regret walking away from it if I did?”.  Right now, I would regret it, so I will soldier on and hope, again, for divine inspiration to learn really quickly how to market myself in such a way as to stand out from my competition.  My business mentor is helping me to the best of her abilities, I know she is, but change is a difficult thing for me.  I don’t handle it well, at all!

The main reason for this post was just to get the crap off my chest and out of my head. So, thank you, if you are reading this.  I do feel better.  Writing always helps me to feel better.  I’m a major advocate of journaling, in general.  First, you have a written record of the journey you are on, and life is about the journey, not so much the destination. Second, it gets whatever is eating at you out of your head, like I said.  So, now I will post this and turn off my computer and go be a homemaker for the day.  That always gives me peace, just being in the moment.  I have enough to worry about in my personal life, I really don’t want to worry about my business life, too.

Blessings to you all,

Elizabeth

 

 

One thought on “Just one of those days, again!

Leave a Reply

